Our History

Our school evolved from the merging of several local schools (formerly Davoren Park Kindergarten and Primary School, Smithfield Plains Kindergarten, Junior Primary and Primary Schools, and Smith Creek Primary School.)

The existing school communities plus our new enrolling families create an exciting new school community.

Our school name

John Anderson Hartley was South Australia’s first leader of the Council of Education in 1875. He was known for his pioneering methods that shaped the course of the public education system between 1875 and 1896. It is also understood that he opened the first school at Smithfield in 1877 (Smith Creek Primary School).

The school name was selected in consultation with the student and parent communities of the closing schools, as well as the wider community. All suggestions were considered by the Advisory Committee (pre-Governing Council) and three names were then shortlisted for consideration. There was a community vote – all families who registered interest to enrol in the new Birth to Year 7 school were entitled to one vote per family.

The school name, John Hartley School B to 7, was officially announced by the Minister of Education, the Hon. Jane Lomax Smith in Term 4 of 2009.

Our location

Our school is located on the corner of Peachey Road and Davoren Road, adjacent to the beautiful wetland environment of Stebonheath Park in Andrews Farm. This offers our students the chance to explore the wetlands during environmental science lessons and for recreation.

The school campus is closely located to the Munno Para Shopping Centre and is conveniently located close to bus routes. The school is central to the suburbs of Munno Para, Munno Para West, Smithfield, Smithfield Plains, Davoren Park, Stebonheath Park and Andrews Farm, placing it within easy walking distance for many families. For those travelling by car, there is ample street parking and easy access.